The new Reading Room for public access to the Reference Library and Archive has been developed above the Museum’s new accessible picture store in the central dome of the Museum.  The library has a wide range of general and art reference books as well as local interest books and rare books. 


The John and Joséphine Bowes archive and the Museum’s archive that in the past have not been accessible to the public can now be consulted in the Reading Room.  There is access to the Internet and to the databases of the Museum’s collections of objects, books and archives. There are facilities for individuals and groups of learners, staff, and researchers, primarily from GCSE upwards.


The Reading Room is open to members of the public to use the Reference Library and to consult the archives, free of charge. The opening hours are on a two-week rota: Week 1 open Tuesday 10.30-4.00 and Wednesday 10.30-1.00, Week 2 open Wednesday 1.30-4.00 and Thursday 10.30-4.00. Please contact the Museum to check which week applies to your intended visit. You will be asked to complete a user application form on your first visit and to show two official forms of ID (to give one example each of your address and signature). You do not have to book a visit in advance but it is advisable to contact us to check that what you want to see is available.

Current Rota:

Date

Time

Tuesday 28 April

10.30-1.00

Tuesday 28 April

1.00-4.00

Wednesday 29 April

10.30-1.00

Wednesday 6 May

1.00-4.00

Thursday 7 May

10.30-1.00

Thursday 7 May

1.00-4.00

Tuesday 12 May

10.30-1.00

Tuesday 12 May

1.00-4.00

Wednesday 13 May

10.30-1.00

Wednesday 20 May

1.00-4.00

Thursday 21 May

10.30-1.00

Thursday 21 May

1.00-4.00

Tuesday 26 May

10.30-1.00

Tuesday 26 May

1.00-4.00

Wednesday 27 May

10.30-1.00

Wednesday 3 June

1.00-4.00

Thursday 4 June

10.30-1.00

Thursday 4 June

1.00-4.00

Tuesday 9 June

10.30-1.00

Tuesday 9 June

1.00-4.00

Wednesday 10 June

10.30-1.00

Wednesday 17 June

1.00-4.00

Thursday 18 June

10.30-1.00

Thursday 18 June

1.00-4.00

Tuesday 23 June

10.30-1.00

Tuesday 23 June

1.00-4.00

Wednesday 24 June

10.30-1.00

Wednesday 1 July

1.00-4.00

Thursday 2 July

10.30-1.00

Thursday 2 July

 1.00-4.00

Tuesday 7 July

 10.30-1.00

 Tuesday 7 July

 1.00-4.00

 Wednesday 8 July

 10.30-1.00
 Wednesday 15 July

 1.00-4.00
 Thursday 16 July

 10.30-1.00
 Thursday 16 July

 1.00-4.00
 Tuesday 21 July

 10.30-1.00
 Tuesday 21 July

 1.00-4.00
 Wednesday 22 July

 10.30-1.00
 Wednesday 29 July

 1.00-4.00
 Thursday 30 July

 10.30-1.00
 Thursday 30 July

 1.00-4.00
 Tuesday 4 August

 10.30-1.00
 Tuesday 4 August

 1.00-4.00
 Wednesday 5 August

 1-.30-1.00
 Wednesday 12 August

 1.00-4.00 
 Thursday 13 August

 10.30-1.00
 Thursday 13 August

 1.00-4.00



John and Joséphine Bowes' wills
Anniversary card
An architect's drawing of the Museum
Workmen on the Museum steps
The Library
View from the Library